Skip to content ↓

Phase 2

In Phase 2, letters and their sounds are introduced one at a time.  A set of letters is taught each week, in the following sequence:

Set1: s,a,t,p
Set2: i,n,m,d
Set3: g,o,c,k
Set4: ck,e,u,r
Set 5: h, b, f, ff, l, ll, ss

The children will begin to learn to blend and segment to begin reading and spelling.  This will begin with simple words.

Tricky words introduced in Phase 2:

  • the
  • to
  • I
  • go
  • into
  • no